This site is no longer updated.

Current Vassar news can be found at; otherwise you can browse recent archived news items.

Solidarity Forever: Strikes and Labor Organizing with the Burgerville Workers Union, November 20, 2017

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY – Amina Rahman and Michelle Ceballos of the Burgerville Workers Union (BVWU) will present “Solidarity Forever: Strikes and Labor Organizing with the Burgerville Workers Union” on Monday, November 20, 7:00 pm in Rockefeller Hall Room 200. This event is free and open to the public.

Rahman and Ceballos, two successful and radical organizers from BVWU in Portland, OR will be speaking to their tactics including wildcat strikes, workplace slowdowns, and other forms of direct action that build both power and confidence among workers. This work is coupled with organizing that looks beyond workplace grievances, wages, and benefits, to instead center movement-building and social justice at large.

This event is co-sponsored by: Audio Picnic, Crafts Not Bombs, Disability Rights Coalition, Divest, Feminist Alliance, Philosophy Journal, GAAP, Student/Labor Dialogue, VC Bikes, Vassar Filmmakers, VC Dems, WVKR, Raymond House, Ferry Haus, 2018 Class Council, VSA, Hispanic Studies, English Department, Jewish Studies, Latin American / Latinx Studies, Philosophy Department, Political Science Department, Women’s Center / LGBTQ Center. 

Vassar College strives to make its events, performances, and facilities accessible to all. Individuals with disabilities requiring special accommodations must contact the Office of Campus Activities at least 48 hours in advance of an event, Mondays-Fridays, at (845) 437-5370. Without sufficient notice, appropriate space/and or assistance may not be available. For detailed information about accessibility to specific campus facilities, search for “campus accessibility information” on the Vassar homepage (

Directions to the Vassar campus, located at 124 Raymond Avenue in Poughkeepsie, NY, are available at

Posted by Office of Communications Tuesday, November 14, 2017