POUGHKEEPSIE, NY -- Free 90-minute walking tours of the historic Vassar College campus will be led by Colton Johnson, Dean Emeritus of the College, on Saturday, April 25, at 10:00am and 1:00pm, and at the same times on Saturday, May 9. All tours will begin at the front entrance to the college's Main Building, and will be held rain or shine.Main Building is one of two Vassar structures on the National Register of Historic Places, along with the observatory built for the college's first faculty member, the preeminent astronomer Maria Mitchell. Both are highlights of the tours, as is the Thompson Memorial Library, distinguished both as an early exemplar of collegiate gothic design and for its sizeable Cornaro stained glass window.
From his very founding of the college in 1861, Matthew Vassar set out to create an exceptional physical environment for learning. By steadily integrating thoughtful landscape and structural design, the college has transformed the grounds of the former Dutchess County Racetrack into one of the world's most revered academic places. Significantly, Vassar College has never relied upon a predominant architectural style, so over the decades it has grown to showcase the work of such leading and varied architects as James Renwick, Jr. Francis R. Allen, Eero Saarinen, Marcel Breuer, and Cesar Pelli.
Each of the free walking tours tour is limited to twenty-five people. To sign up for a tour, or for more information, call Martha Morrison in the Office of College Relations at (845) 437-7400, or e-mail email@example.com. The college is located on Raymond Avenue in the Town of Poughkeepsie, and free on-campus parking is available. Directions to Vassar can be found at http://www.vassar.edu/directions.
Vassar College is a highly selective, coeducational, independent, residential, liberal arts college founded in 1861.